19
Jul
08

MAKING HISTORY: ITALIAN VOGUE – THE BLACK ISSUE

Hello Divas!

Ebene, at your service. How are you? I am feeling fabulous, if not a little sleepy. I will write another  post to properly introduce myself and to thank you for your warm welcome but this could not wait. In case, you have not heard, Italian Vogue made history by publishing a limited collector’s edition called “The Black Issue,” 50 and more pages of amazing pictures by the uber-talented Steven Meisel of black models and celebrities from Iman to Tina Turner and every young, older and cult-like ebony beauty in our recent history. For those of you who happen to read Vogue (American, Australian, Japanese, British…yes I know, I may be slighly obsessed), you understand the MAJUH nature of this publishing feat. Therefore, the demand for this gem of a magazine has been INSANE!

So, this week, I spent a good three hours, ok more, trying to track down a copy in the DC area. After many a phone calls, and stalker visits to Borders, I found a couple of copies, which I had to go get this morning before 8, thereby explaining my sleepiness, in my pyjamas downtown DC (don’t worry the only people who saw me were the sweaty joggers and the homeless people who were also just waking up). So…I took a couple of copies, NOT cheap at $20 a piece but REALLY worth it bellas (and bellos, if you are reading)! When next will you able to pick up a well-respected glossy with a woman of African descent on the cover, in the ads and through the majority of the editorial layouts??? All right, I am getting to the point,  if you are in the DC area, call or run to News World at 1001 Connecticut Ave NW, (202)872-0190. If not, I have a couple of copies on hold so email me at ebenemoda@yahoo.com and I may be able to mail a copy to you at your cost. Hurry! I don’t know how long they will hold them for me. 🙂

Have a wonderful week-end!

6 Responses to “MAKING HISTORY: ITALIAN VOGUE – THE BLACK ISSUE”


  1. Saturday, July 19, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Hello Ebene..
    yay your first post:)
    Yes, everyone is talking about this Vogue issue. I have just referred your email address to another blogger Just me from (yepanotherone.blogspot.com). She has been searching this issue for a while….

  2. 2 eVaDiVa
    Sunday, July 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

    EBENE!!! WELCOME, WELCOME, WELCOME!!!
    I was so happy to open the blog and see your post!!! It is definetely a nice touch you bringing…thank u sis!!!
    You know one of these extra copies of Vogue you have is for me right? Give it to Vadim when he comes to DKR if I cannot find any here in MTL or when I transit through Paris next week!
    Once again, welcome to the blog and thank you for keeping it fun and alive!

    XoXo

    eVaDiVa

  3. Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Hello ladies.. You were nominated for an award. check out my blog for details 🙂

  4. 4 Sharon
    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Yesterday morning, I got on the phone open my yellow pages and went down the list of Border;s bookstores and called….called the 3rd Border’s on the list and “BINGO!”, “yes we have several on store”. WTF!! Put mine on reserve and I’m coming RIGHT NOW TO PICK IT UP!!! I didn’t even bother to change clothes. I thru a basebll hat on, grabbed my bank card and ID and was down there in 30 mins by bus!!! Walked in and saw at the cashier desk beneath the counter 2 copies and one I’m sure (mine) behind the desk. I bought one and decided NOT to buy two becuz I knew other people would be heartbroken if there weren’t anymore. KARMA please grant me someting nice for this gesture.

    Now that I think about it today, I should have bought one to finger thru and another to put away for investment and historical reasons. That would have left at least one for someone else.
    DAYUM! oh well… *holding up my magazine like the Holy Grail* “I GOT MY ITALIAN VOGUE BLACK ISSUE!!!!!!!!!”

  5. 5 Ebene
    Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I hear you Sharon! My friends, significant other and probably the clerks at various stores must have thought I was crazy while I frantically ran around looking for this gem of a magazine. I did the borders thing and when I showed up (7 minutes later) they were all gone! Hence the 8 am trek to the independent newspaper stand on a saturday morning. But I have my copies neatly displayed on my coffee table (2 still wrapped in plastic)…at least until my sisters fly in.(snif…)

  6. 6 Sharon
    Friday, August 1, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    LOL

    Awesome Ebene! Welcome to the “Club”!!! :o)


Leave a Reply

Follow me…

Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 941,494 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a

Top Clicks

  • None

