23
Jul
08

PROPER INTRODUCTIONS

 

So…in our virtual community, you can call me Ebene. As Eva, our favorite diva, embarks on new adventures around the world, I will be holding the fort stateside and fashion wise. In tandem, we aim to keep you informed, entertained and empowered. Just as beauty related tools and additives can make you feel strong, so can clothes and accessories. That’s where I come in. While in graduate school, I worked at a retail shop where my affable nature and passion for fashion led me to become a personal shopper. I enthusiastically selected outfits for my clients, their husbands (or significant others), children, grand-children, bankers, nannies and sometimes yes, even for their pets (you’d be amazed at how many dog cashmere sweaters I ordered). I learned a lot about fashion, about people and was able to pay my bills. I will share with you some of these lessons. There are a few universal truths about fashion, tailoring and clothing but I believe in cultivating individuality in all aspects of life, especially when it comes to appearance.

 

The picture above is not me but it could be. I am a young professional hailing from the Continent. I have been wearing my hair natural (and really short) for the past couple of months after spending years brushing a mane that was both thick and long but that grew thinner and thinner until I decided that all of us (my hair, brushes, perms and hair dryers) needed a break. I work in corporate America but will always stand out as the “African.” Why you ask, because my accent, jewelry, style and interests reveal my allegiance to the Continent.

 

Stylewise, I have always been preppy. Blame the nuns in catholic school. Blame Jeune et Jolie. Blame our French colonizers. Blame boarding school in the northeast of the United States. I feel most at ease in a pair of jeans (trousers jeans today, bootcut yesterday), a man’s belt (or tie belt), a white shirt (or a plain t-shirt) with sandals (or flip-flops) and a tote. Following a foot injury, I was unable to run for the past 10 months and because I refused to adjust my epicurean endeavors, I put on about a pound (okay maybe more) per month of inactivity. Hence, I became unable to fit into my $500 suiting (which I got for $100…will explain in another post) and other pants of my liking. Instead of undergoing a complete wardrobe regeneration, I bought about ten dresses (one of which cost $350 but was bought for $40) over a year, for about $300 and became a dress lady. So these days, you are most likely to find me in an Anthropology dress with Madras flip flops and a tote.

My personal style has not impeded my ability to style women (and men) whose sartorial predilections differed from mine. i am six feet tall, curvy, with a small waist and a not so small derriere. Some of my best clients barely passed the five feet mark, had blue eyes, jessica simpson’s bosom and long blond hair. Others were men in their fifties.

 

My opinion (about anything) is that only, an opinion. You may agree. You may not. When sharing my tips for bargain shopping or for dressing, I surely welcome dissent and suggestions. I could stand to learn a thing or two.

 

I won’t pretend that my tastes, experiences and suggestions aren’t specific to a certain socio-economic status. However, I’ve been broke. I’ve been not so broke. I’ve dressed people who flew in private jets and others who could barely afford top ramen noodles. In college, I once wore a handmade purple suit that was far too big with a yellow shirt underneath. A classmate said I looked like a pimp. Well, I was going to church…(LOL) I say this to say that in all of our journeys, we had to start somewhere. I hope that I’ll be able to help you move forward. I know that a lot of readers are Eva’s friends. She is an exquisite dresser, as are most of her friends, so please feel free to jump in.

 

I think I’ve covered everything. Feel free to ask me questions. It will help narrow my focus on posts because as you can already tell, I will drown you in words if you let me. Blame my professional training. Actually, no. I like to write. So, in closing, I thank you for this opportunity to share a part of myself with you. I really appreciate it. And to my diva Eva, I love you and am oh so proud of you!

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “PROPER INTRODUCTIONS”


  1. 1 eVaDiVa
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I love you too Ebene!!! You know that woman on the pic looks soooo much like you!!!
    Nice introduction! I am about to go catch my flight for Paris and then Dakar…oooh I am sooo excited!!! Will probably write something if I can have a connection at the airport…

    XoXo

    eVaDiVa

  2. Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    What a beautiful introduction Ebene!! While reading, I was able to relate on some many points especially going natural and putting on weight. All my life, I’ve been so self conscious about my body and over the years, I have become more curvy. I’ll send you an email in a few for style options. Welcome!!

  3. 3 Ebene
    Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Thanks Eva! Hope your trip went well. Enjoy Dakar for me. Miss ya!

    Amina: Thank you. I enjoy your blog and have been meaning to try some of your hair “recipes.” My hair is a bit dry so I really need to get to it. Looking forward to your email. Bisous

  4. 4 Huma
    Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Its nice to meet you :)I am also a woman of color and i love the way you express yourself in terms of being comfortable with your African heritage. Its been 3 or 4 months since i have been lurking around your blog and absolutely admiring your entries. By the way Welcome to Canada !!!

    All the best
    Huma

  5. 5 Mimi
    Friday, July 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Really nice meeting you miss Ebene! Beautiful introduction. I love the fact that you shared quite a lot about yourself, letting us know what we are getting, and from where I am standing it looks awesome. With you and the Diva teaming up, I can only foresee incredible things for this blog.
    Best!

  6. 6 Tima
    Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Hey Ebene,
    our intro is great! I really am enjoying this site make up, style that’s sooo awesome!! By the way I’m not good with make up like I told Eva and not at all with style sooo yes I would love to have help! loll!!! All the best for both of you! Xoxo

  7. 7 Patricia
    Monday, July 28, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Hi Ebene!
    Whenever you feel like talking about the $500 suit for $100 feel free!!
    Good Job so far!

  8. 8 asmaou
    Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Thank you all (Huma, Mimi, Patricia and Tima) for your warm welcome. I really appreciate it.

    FYI Huma: I’m Ebene, the beauty guru is Eva. I cannot take credit for the make-up tips (though I very much want to). 🙂


Leave a Reply

Follow me…

Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 942,732 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a


