22
Jan
09

YOUR FAVORITE MAKEUP BRAND?

sephora

Hello Divas,

I am making a survey on favorite makeup brands for women of color and will need your help on that. I would like to know:

1- What is your favorite makeup line (if you have more than one, list them by order of preference)?
2- Why is it your favorite makeup line (good foundation, good price, buying location easily accessible)?
3- Does the price matter for you?
4 – For how much are you willing to purchase a lipstick (price in Dollar)?

Thank you Divas!!! Your help will be greatly appreciated on that…

XoXo

eVaDiVa

13 Responses to “YOUR FAVORITE MAKEUP BRAND?”


  1. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Hey Chica!

    My answers are mainly due to the fact that I have dry skin, so I tend to look for foundations that work best for me, so far that is…

    Favorite Make-up lines:
    1) Cargo…their cream foundation in F80 really works for my dry skin issues
    2) MAC…I’m delving back into their products head first, stick foundation in NC50, awesome eyeshadows, really good products overall
    3)NARS…the balanced foundation is really light and feels like I have no make-up on
    4)MUFE…don’t quite know how to feel about the High Def foundation…but I do like some of their other products.

    Reasons:
    They’re my faves bcos they’re good products and they work for me

    Matter of price:
    When I find something that works, price doesn’t matter so so much, plus they last a while.

    Lipstick:
    I don’t really do lipstick, but nothing more than the price of a MAC lipstick.

  2. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    1. MAC, Stila, NArs, Bobbi Brown, Maybelline

    2. I have several favorite brands and I used them for different purposes: MAC is my first love and I can buy anything. I particularly love the pigmented eyeshadows and blushes. Then I loove Stila. I love how “buttery” their eyeshadows look as well as the convertible blushes or color pushups. Back in the days, they used to make beautiful powder blushes that were WOC friendly but now, they just look chalky. So I usually get eyeshadows from stila and i am a sucka for their palettes. Then I love NArs blushes.They’re the best blushes I’ve ever worn. If I could afford their eyeshadows on a regular basis, I would also have a great collection, but so far, I only splurge on the blushes. My new love is Bobbi Brown. I also love the metallic eyeshadows as well as her blushes, particularly the pot rouges!! I am so mad at myself that I’ve been sleeping on her products for such a long time. Last but not least, I love maybelline blushes. They always have something new and their mascaras never fail me.

    3. I believe in investing in good quality products so that they can last and get the most color pay off. I’ve spent so much on drugstores brands such as Almay, Loreal, Revlon, only to have the eyeshadows crease or fade in less than 3 hours. So I do splurge on make up but there are some items such as the MUFE eyeshadow palette that i know i won’t get (it is a good $390) or Nars eyeshadows where I think twice…

    4 – again, it depends on the quality and the color payoff. I think between $10-$15 is a reasonable price. I’ve bought a $24 chanel lipgloss once and it was a spluurge. Was it worth it? not at all.. in fact when i bought, before pulling out the mastercard, i told the MUA, with that price, i’d better get kissed..lol..

  3. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I meant I love Maybelline mascaras not blushes. As you can tell, I am a blush whore..lol

  4. 4 Karine Sar
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    1- Fashion Fair
    2- Matches my skintone best, looks the most natural on me.
    3- Not really, but it has to remain reasonable
    4 – Maximum $ 25

  5. 5 Madina Sow
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    1. Fashion Fair!!!( especially their foundation and eye shadows) always, always and always!

    2. I love their foundation, their colors matches perfectly my skin…however living in Africa now I have issues getting my Fashion Fair products I have to order them from the U.S and this is not very convenient

    3. Not at all as long as I am satisfied with the product

    4. $18

    I looooooooooooooooove your website , thanks for the beauty tips and keep up the good work!

  6. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Yikes! It wouldn’t accept the comments the first time, hence my typing it in again…oh gosh!

  7. Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    1- MAC: Like Amina, this is my first love!!! I love their eyeshadows and I think they’re reasonably priced for being “high end”. Their lipglasses are the only ones that I am not allergic to all the way. I will only get their lipsticks as well.
    MUFE: I love me some makeup forever. They make the best matte foundation. (Mat Velvet) and I personally feel that they make the best matte eyeshadows when it comes to bright colors.
    Stila: I love Stila’s eyeshadows. They are buttery soft and so gorgeous. I think they are up there in terms of neutral eyeshadows. Great quality and pigmentation. I also like their lip glazes. That’s another one I’m not allergic too.
    NARS: Expensive, but really good. I mostly like their blushes. Very pigmented and well worth the price, IMO.
    Bobbi Brown: I think she makes the most natural looking foundations and I love that they are yellow toned. Her products are of great quality. I LOVE her shimmerbricks. Her foundation stick is great!!!

    2- I aswered this question in question number 1. But to answer the last part of this question, I find that all of these makeup brands are very easily accessible. I live in NYC, luckily.

    3- Price does not matter to me at all. If the product really works for me, then the price is no big deal.

    4 – To be honest I won’t spend more than how much a MAC lipstick costs because I am not really a lipstick girl.

  8. 8 TraceyM
    Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    1–MAC, Bobbi Brown

    2–I love MAC’s make up line, mineralize skinfinish, eyeshadow, lipglass, everything; Bobbi Brown’s lipgloss and lip liner. I find them in the high end mall in Orlando, Fl.(where I live)

    3– I like the prices of MAC.

    4–If the color looks good on me and good quality, I would buy it.

  9. Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    I like MAC foundation & Concealer. Covergirl Eyeshadows & Mascara. Maybelline mascara.
    For a lipstick, i’ll say…$12 is the max i’ll spend unless it was something really hi-tech or splurge worthy like Yves Saint Laurent before I fork out anything more.

  10. Monday, January 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    1. MAC, NARS, Urban Decay

    2. MAC was the first makeup I ever tried, and while I was ambivilent about it for a while, I came to see I loved the huge range they provided, the creative campaigns (i know i know the ads got to me), and they’ve come a ways towards making their glosses less sticky.

    NARS…how I love thee. The blushes are crazy good! Beats MAC everytime. The shadows are richly pigmented, and the looks they come up with are very classy. However…$$$…yes it is.

    Urban Decay I like because I’m young and like shimmer. Urban decay has reasonably affordable eye palettes, and I like not having to buy individual shadows. Plus the colors are just as rich as MAC.

    3. Price doesn’t matter…to an extent. I think NARS is seriously priced high, but the product is worth it. Lines like Chanel, YSL, etc. aren’t worth the $50 they ask. Why spend that much for a so-so product when you can get MAC? (The line most ppl use anyway)

    4. For lipstick…hmm…I love lipstick, I guess I wouldn’t pay anymore than what NARS asks $24. …But that shade would have to be out of this world amazing. (Note: I’ve only ever bought MAC and drugstore lipsticks)

  11. Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I love NARS for their blushes and foundations.
    I use the firming foundation in “Trinidad.”
    A better deal would be Maybelline Pure Makeup in Cocoa.

    I am getting back into MAC want to try that new sculpting foundation
    and I love MUFE! They have darker foundation shades and so does Becca for that
    matter, but they are a bit pricey.

    Lipstick?
    $20-25
    but it would REALLY have to be something else.
    Perfect color, moisturizing, not LE…

  12. 12 Tasha
    Friday, January 30, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    1. MAC & then MUFE
    2. MAC: (for eyeshadows & brushes) – Innovative, great price
    MUFE: (for foundation, concealer) – High quality, doesn’t break me out, better selection
    3. Somewhat
    4. $12-$15

  13. 13 Fatma
    Friday, February 6, 2009 at 6:04 am

    1.MAC and DERMABLEND
    2.Good foundation
    3.Doesnt really matter as soon as it worth it…
    4.10$-15$


Leave a Reply

Follow me…

Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 941,945 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a

Top Clicks

  • None

