10
May
12

My Hair is a HOT MESS!!!

Image

Hello Divas,

Decided to write a non-makeup post today but that’s because I have been having trouble with my hair lately…

I decided to go natural (yeeeesss!!!) but found out lately that transitioning is not an easy task. I am running out of options for styling my hair…I have been browsing all types of website and blogs…from Journal Nappy Girl to Black Girl Long Hair to Carol’s daughter Transitioning Movement…but truth is, unless you are very dedicated to your hair and are patient, you cannot do it. I have been able to resist relaxing for now 7 months and thanks to my nappy girlfriends all around the world (favorite blogger Vanoue, Gaelle from Les Hairoines, Anna B, Awa B…with all great natural hair) I can sustain the urge …

So I have been braiding my hair lately but I am not a big fan of conrows…cannot keep them for over a week…I do not want to put on weaves anymore…I have been walking around with scarves on my head (see picture on post below)…well I am just lost in this transitioning thing…AND cannot do the BIG CHOP!!!

I thought I would just share my transitioning adventure as every day has been a “bad” hair day for me lately…let’s hope I can make it…and for all of you nappy girls, kudos to y’all !!!

XoXo

eVaDiVa


7 Responses to “My Hair is a HOT MESS!!!”


  1. Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Congratulations on going natural. It is not easy so kudos!! Hang in there 🙂 you can do it.Check out also cheveux ebene for more support. Naturi is such a sweetheart!!! You’ve listed great resources!!
    Have you thought of doing mini chops? My little sister didn’t want to do a big chop so she transitioned for 3 years then decided to lock.
    Have you thought of sisterlocks?
    Again, best of luck!!! You can do it 🙂

  2. Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    I also forgot to say I understand how you feel about cornrows. I am too lazy to style so most of the time I wear my hair out.

  3. 3 eVaDiVa
    Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Hey girl! Great ida for the mini chops! I will give that a try but it is sooo hard to just chop! How did you do it? Your nappy hair looks great too! I just came to realize that so many girls have natural hair now!

  4. 4 eVaDiVa
    Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Forgot to amswer ur question, i am not a big fan of locks….so I rather not… :o(

    • Friday, May 11, 2012 at 12:04 am

      I understand:) thank you for your kind words too. I was heavily influenced by naturals in Zimbabwe and South Africa back in 2006. I was in Zim for the summer when I decided to go natural. I transitioned with braids for six weeks then instead of getting a touch up, I did a big chop. I knew that if I didn’t chop right away, I wouldn’t have done it. After all, my memories of natural hair were not pleasant at all!!!
      The first months were kinda brutal as I had no clue what to do and even ask my brother for hair advice!! Lol
      It got easier and I’ve enjoyed trying a bunch of products.
      5 years later, I woke up, wanted a change, went to supercuts and asked for another
      big chop. C’etait un veritable coup de tete!!
      Take your time. A big chop is not for everyone.
      Emotionally it is also hard when you get criticism from friends, family, random strangers.
      Plus I had relaxers most of my life and avoided trims… Short hair was new, scary and outside of my comfort zone.

      My sister would cut a little bit and did braids constantly and weaves occasionally. She doesnt like short hair so after 3 years of transition, she decided to lock. She can’t wait for them to grow long 🙂
      Courage!!!
      (sorry this is a very long answer)

      • 6 eVaDiVa
        Friday, May 11, 2012 at 12:06 pm

        Ooooh I loveeeed your answer! It’s giving me “hope” that I can do it and I am not alone! lol
        It’s true, the big chop is not for everybody and I know it’s not for me! I will feel very depressed if I do that I already know…lol 🙂
        Thanks for sharing!

  5. 7 MMichele
    Tuesday, May 22, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    C’ pas évident!
    j’ai big chopé il ya 2 ans et au début j’assumais pas du tout (et mon ‘chou n’aimait pas mes cheveux crépus donc…)
    ce qui m’a sauvé: les twists/braids avec ou sans rajouts. j’en fais toute l’année et c’est hyper pratique à laver et à coiffer! tu peux les faire courts ou très longs, comme Solange ces derniers temps.

    bon courage!


Leave a comment


Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 951,366 hits
May 2012
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

a