25
Jan
09

MAC and Very dark skin powder/foundation?

6543_alek_wek_olivier_rauh

Anonymous wrote:

It is obvious that u LOVE MAC and so do I, however I can’t find the right powder.
I like MAC but I think that people with my complexion are always stuck to the NW50 which is not necessarly the right shade. it can turn grey! I think that the darker you are the fiewer are your choices. In my opinion MAc does not have enough color choice for people with very dark skin; not African-Americans with just light skin!!! I might be wrong because when I go on the website, I can see different type of founcations and powders, so which powder and shade would you recommend? I use Black up becoz i get the right coverage, shade and a mat finish; What do you think?
merciiiiiii
eVaDiVa wrote:
Hi Anonymous,

Thank you for your question.
To answer it, MAC does have a lot of shades for darker skin. However, most people, especially African women are just stuck to the studio fix powder where the darkest shade is NW50. This studio fix powder is great for everyday use and its the perfect powder to have a combination of foundation and powder in 1. However, it is not recommended for pictures or as a night makeup especially if you are very dark. The reason is that some of the pigments used in that formula reflects too much the light and that’s why you can see sometimes people that use it and take pictures look like ghosts…lol…
So the solution for you if you really wanna use MAC will be to use their STUDIO TECH foundation or STICK foundation in NW55. The texture of the STICK is creamy so it doesn’t give you the same finish than the studio fix. However, the STUDIO TECH is also creamy but will dry on your face like a powder so it will be about the same than the FIX.
I also LOOOVE  FASHION FAIR foundations for darker skin. You should try them as well. BLACK UP  is indeed a great line and have very good foundations, so if you are happy with them, I would suggest to stick with them and try MAC  or FASHION FAIR just to get something different…
Hope this helped…

XoXo

eVaDiVa


4 Responses to “MAC and Very dark skin powder/foundation?”


  1. Monday, February 2, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Hey Eva, I’m loving this picture of Alec Wek very hot!

  2. Friday, April 30, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    This is an awesome post. I am a hair and makeup artist and I am often looking to for the best way to enhance dark skin.

    Monae Everett
    http://www.HairandMakeupBlog.com

  3. Saturday, May 1, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Tyra you look good without hair i think that it suits you even though you look better with long hair

  4. Sunday, November 25, 2012 at 6:45 am

    In the event it comes to creating excellent content material you absolutely know your stuff, high 5 bro.
    ! . !


Leave a comment


Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 951,366 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

a