27
Aug
08

JEANS SAGA EPISODE 1: ONE MAN’S TRASH IS ANOTHER WOMAN’S TREASURE

 Hola mamitas (y papis)!

I’ve been M.I.A. but you’ve been in my thoughts. Work is busy. Family is visiting. Time flies, etc…

Well, a couple of weeks ago I wrote this post:

“I am currently sitting in my friend’s living room in NYC wearing his old jeans which we cut up to the knees to make the most comfortable and flattering pair of jean shorts, which I fully intend to pair with gladiator flat sandals, , flip flops, tall boots and tights in the Fall etc…We just came back from a run and i decided to raid his closet because of the awsome jeans he’s been wearing during my visit.

My last pair of great jeans were also men’s jeans (gifted from another very good friend). So here I am, very happy, with three new jeans: a pair of cut-off jeans, a pair of “boyfriend” jeans in light oh-so-in-vogue wash (a slightly looser fit around the leg) and a long indigo light-textured straight pair of Japanese denim. I am in (Jeans) heaven!

 

I have been having a really hard time fitting into my jeans (see part about my gaining a considerable amount of weight in the past year even though my friend and his (very petite) wife said I’d lost a lot of weight since our last meeting, which was about a month ago. Yes maam! have been at the gym e.ve.ry day…or almost) So anyway it’s always been hard for me to find jeans that fit me properly being affected by Africanitis ( a small waist and a big bottom) but it gets even more traumatizing when I put on weight because the waist to hip/butt ratio is off the charts. My friend’s jeans fit perfectly, one pair “the boyfriend” cut is even a little lose (yeah baby!) I am feeling great! Comme par hasard, ironically, the jeans that fit me best are the ones he was thinking of throwing away.” 
 
So here are the lessons of the day:
Lesson number 1: Be open when shopping.

If the selection of women jeans make you want to strangle the store girl helping you, back away from the rack and head over to the men’s section. I hear that for curvy mamis like moi (six feet tall and five feet 5 of legs with hips, thighs and booty to boot) stores like Century 21 in NYC and Loehmann’s in other states carry brands like Damage (2 of the jeans I recycled from my friend)
 
Lesson number 2: Vintage  is in baby!

Look around!Your friends, boyfriends/girlfriends, aunts, uncles, parents may hold the key to your sartorial happiness. In high school, I wore my dad’s old blazers and his 1978, or so he says, jordache indigo jeans. In college, I wore silk scarves around my neck on a daily basis that once belonged to a chic 70 year old church lady from Massachusetts. Today, I wear jeans from my generous male friends, white tshirts from the man in my life and gold ear rings my mother custom ordered for my aunt more than 15 years ago.
 
Lesson number 3: Don’t beat yourself up when your body changes.

Work on it and in the mean time adapt to the change. Cursing yourself for the 9am donut won’t make it disappear. Take a long walk or go for a run and look forward to looking fabulous in your new old men’s jeans.
 

Besos!

 P.S: The jeans in the picture are from jcrew.

  

 

 

 

 

 


3 Responses to “JEANS SAGA EPISODE 1: ONE MAN’S TRASH IS ANOTHER WOMAN’S TREASURE”


  1. Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    yay! i missed you guys!
    Ebene you give the best advices! I recently started shopping sweaters in the men’s sections since in the ladies section, i look like i stepped out of a surgeon’s office…
    I am going to start shopping for jeans in the men’s section too!!

    Don’t beat yourself up when your body changes. AMEN!!!! I need to repeat that every day until i start believing it!

  2. Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 8:31 am

    i am back from a looooong rest! ha ha! ok, so life got in the way of all the blogging i could have done and of course now that i am back i had to comment and tell you how wonderful and beautiful you are and that your skills in make-up make me think i know nothing!

    i’m glad you’re still going strong and so dedicated to your readers! i have sooo much to learn from you, lady!

    thanks for the love and support!

    LUSH

  3. 3 eVaDiVa
    Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I missed u guys sooooo much!!! I was cut from the world…really I was so did not really have the chance to get online!
    I am back from Abidjan and gained soooo much weight that this post was probably written for me! thank you Ebene…
    I am back on track now and should be writing very soon…

    XoXo

    eVaDiVa


Leave a comment


Quote of the Day…

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." Mahatma Ghandi

Cause of the Week… S.O.S Children’s Villages

Product of the week…

NARS TAJ MAHAL BLUSH Great color and a beautiful glow!

MAKEUP PIC of the Week

Narscosmetics.com

Blog Stats

  • 951,368 hits
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

a

Top Clicks

  • None